A Prayer for Grace in Little Things

Standard

I’m always amazed by one of my church’s womens group that hosts a pancake breakfast on the last Sunday of each month.  They work so hard so others may enjoy food and fellowship.  I thought of how busy their lives are in taking care of their family and friends, and yet they get it all done.  In their love and care of others, I am reminded that this too is ministry.  There is something very saintly about serving others, caring for the needs of one’s family, and it is often a thankless job.  I know so many women who have Martha’s hands and very Mary minds.  They inspired me to post this little prayer I once found by an anonymous author:

Lord of all pots and pans and things;
Since I’ve no time to be a saint by doing lovely things or watching late with Thee,
Or dreaming in the dawnlight or storming heaven’s gates,
Make me saint by getting meals, and washing up the plates.

Although I must have Martha’s hands, I have a Mary mind;
And when I black the boots and shoes, Thy sandals, Lord, I find.
I think of how they trod the earth, what time I scrub the floor;
Accept this meditation, Lord, I haven’t time for more.

Warm all the kitchen with Thy love, and light it with Thy peace;
Forgive me all my worrying, and make all grumbling cease.
Thou who didst love to give men food, in room or by the sea,
Accept this service that I do – I do it unto Thee.
Amen.


(Image courtesy of brichnculture.com)
Leave a Reply

