Sacred Ground

Standard

“Come no closer! Remove the sandals from your feet, for the place on which you are standing is holy ground” (Exodus 3:5).

What is holy or sacred ground?
What does it look like?
How will I know when I am there?

Irish author and poet, Oscar Wilde said, “Where there is sorrow, there is holy ground.”

God, through the Prophet Jeremiah, says, “I will turn their mourning into joy, I will comfort them, and give them gladness for sorrow” (31:13).  Which leads me to think that where God is, God is changing sorrow into gladness.  Therefore, there is no enduring sorrow on holy ground.  Hmm…

The Book of Exodus teaches us that where God is, that is holy ground.  So churches, the Houses of God, are holy ground.  Where ever two or more Christians gather in Christ’s name, manifesting Jesus, that is holy ground, too.  The indwelling of the Holy Spirit within us makes us holy ground.  Do you feel that way?  Do you think of yourself as a sacred place for God to be?  I wonder how different my self-esteem would be if I took this notion seriously.  I am holy ground because I am a being of sacred worth to God.  I am not stupid, or fat, or ugly, or callow, or unworthy, or whatever negative adjective occurs to me at any given time, because I am holy ground.  I did not choose this status.  It was bestowed upon me by the almighty God who in his infinite knowledge and power made this choice.  So who I am I to argue?

What is holy or sacred ground?  I am holy and sacred ground.
What does it look like?  It looks like me, you, us.
How will I know when I am there?  When I feel the Spirit of God stirring within me.  When I feel the flutter of my heartbeat.  When I feel emotions welling up inside me.  When I feel the aches and pains of this world.  When I feel the touch of another, or their absence.  When I wake up or when sleep over takes me.  When I am just being me.


(Image courtesy of myordersoft.com)

Leave a Reply

