The Mission is the Statement

Standard


(Image courtesy of gospeldrivendisciples.blogspot.com)

I went away on a retreat this past weekend with four of the Confirmands in my church’s Confirmation Class.  I got to talking with the other adult chaperone from my church about mission statements.  Many churches struggle with what their mission statement should be, how long it should be, and how to use it.  I personally believe that it should be short enough that people, especially the children and youth, can memorize it.  That way, they will know it and be more apt to apply it to what we are doing as a church.  So this chaperone and I started bouncing off ideas about mission statements in general.  We came up with this one:

Jesus called, I answered.
Jesus said, “Go.”  I went.

Is it perfect?  Maybe not.  But I find it to be profound in simplicity and accuracy.  This statement conveys that I was called by my Lord and Savior into this new life.  It recalls my obedience, even if it wasn’t instantaneous or immediate.  The statement is clear that it doesn’t end there either; Christ has another part of this life: I have to go.  Go out, go forth, go and do.  There is more to being a Christian than proclaiming it, than calling myself by that sacred name, than just internal faith.  It requires that I act according to this faith, that I make a difference in the lives of others by embodying my faith, that I then go and do as Christ did for others.  It might not ever be my church’s mission statement, or any church I ever serve, but it is going to be mine.  Right now.  I’m implementing it immediately. 

So tell me, what’s your mission statement?

Leave a Reply

