The Lord’s Mysterious Ways

Standard

I first began this website on February 23rd, as a place to post my recorded sermons for my family and friends who wanted and had repeatedly asked for them.  It quickly became something more.  Suddenly I had a whole new means through which to articulate my faith.  When I started writing and positing the results of my theological reflections on various things, I did it just for me.  I did not intend to convert or persuade anyone to my point of view.  This was not about evangelism, per se.  Then, some how, some way, this small personal endeavor grew into something much bigger than I could have hoped or dreamed.  It became something bigger than just me and my whimsical thoughts.  Three months later, my site has received almost 20,000 hits from people as far away as Spain, France, and Russia.  I could never have predicted that or set it as my goal, but God is able to see beyond the mortal limits of my eye.  God has plans bigger than my wildest dreams. 

I think 1 Corinthians captures this perfectly:

“When I came to you, brothers and sisters, I did not come proclaiming the mystery of God to you in lofty words or wisdom.  For I decided to know nothing among you except Jesus Christ, and him crucified.  And I came to you in weakness and in fear and in much trembling.  My speech and my proclamation were not with plausible words of wisdom, but with a demonstration of the Spirit and of power, so that your faith might rest not on human wisdom but on the power of God” (2:1-5 NRS).


(Image courtesy of berro.com)


I could not have seen where this path was taking me.  I did not understand that there is farther to go beyond my own line of sight.  I now know that God will take me further along this path, around obstacles, and deeper in my faith.  That’s just part of the Lord’s myserious way of working in our lives.  We think we know because we’ve sat and thought it all out, but God knows more than we could ever hope to know and can use means for greater good than we can comprehend.

Every time someone tells me in person, in a post comment, or via email that something I wrote, something I posted meant something to them, I know that this endeavor has been good, because it glorifies God.  The God I serve inspires me, moves me, motivates me, and pushes me beyond myself to grow and learn.  That is what I have tried to do here.  Sometimes I think I succeed and sometimes I miss the mark, but if any good comes from this, it is God alone that deserves the praise.  This site is no longer about me, and maybe it never really was; it’s about God.  As it should be.

Leave a Reply

