Whole Hearted Agreement

Standard

On one of the rare occasions I drive, I found myself listening to the radio when on came “Hole Hearted” by Extreme.  I knew the song well (it’s from 1991) and the lyrics by heart, but this time, I heard them in a new way…

Life’s ambition occupies my time
Priorities confuse the mind
Happiness one step behind
This inner peace I’ve yet to find

Rivers flow into the sea

Yet even the sea is not so full of me
If I’m not blind why can’t I see
That a circle can’t fit
Where a square should be

There’s a hole in my heart

That can only be filled by you
And this hole in my heart
Can’t be filled with the things I do

Hole hearted

Hole hearted

This heart of stone is where I hide

These feet of clay kept warm inside
Day by day less satisfied
Not fade away before I die

Rivers flow into the sea

Yet even the sea is not so full of me
If I’m not blind why can’t I see
That a circle can’t fit
Where a square should be

There’s a hole in my heart

That can only be filled by you
And this hole in my heart
Can’t be filled with the things I do
There’s a hole in my heart
That can only be filled by you
Should’ve know from the start
I’d fall short with the things I do

I think that being a Christian means that you have a “hole hearted” experience at some point in your life when you realize that there is a part of you that cannot be filled with worldly, material things.  It cannot be filled with family or friends.  There is no achievement, no honor, no fame capable of filling it either.  Nothing we as humans can say or do can fill us.  We will always have this perpetual emptiness without Jesus Christ.  Human history is full of attempts to fill this vacuum with power, glory, respectability, wealth, and various other desires.  There are countless biographies of celebrities who had everything you would think you could ever want and they were still empty.  They begin trying to fill the hole with parties, expanding social circles, drugs and alcohol, sexual escapades, and extravagant spending.  But the hole never fills and they fall deeper into a downward spiral of failed attempts.  Sometimes they pull themselves out of it, but often it is not before they go bankrupt, lose their family and friends, fall out of grace in the public’s eyes, or hurt themselves.  I’m always surprised by the number of celebrities who “find Jesus” later in life.

The longer I’m alive the more I agree that there is nothing I could do to replace Jesus in my heart, much less my life.  With prophetic accuracy, I could say that “I should have known from the start that I’d fall short with the things I do.”  How can we ever expect the profane, the mundane, the secular, the ordinary to fill the place within each of us reserved for the sacred, the heavenly, the divine, the extraordinary, that place that God carved out during our creation for God himself to fill?  It’s like there is a “reserved” sign on our heart, and God is waiting for us to open ourselves up.  What are you trying to fill that hole in your heart with?  Or have you come to realize that nothing else can fill it, so you’ve now got it overflowing with God?


(Image courtesy of defend-us-in-battle.blogspot.com)
Leave a Reply

