The Emptiness Prayer

Standard

“They return with their vessels empty” (Jeremiah 14:3 NRS).

God of Bountiful Grace,
All week long I have poured myself out,
In my job, for my bosses and co-workers,
In my home, for my family,
In my community, for my neighbors and friends.
Now I am empty.
I feel like I have done everything I could for everyone else.
In the deepest recesses of myself,
I wonder if I have anything left for you.
I don’t even know if I have anything left for me,
But I remember your promise to fill your people with hope,
Love,
Grace,
The presence of the Holy Spirit,
The light of Jesus Christ,
and the wisdom of those who seek you first.
If I have not sought you first, is there anything there for me?
Deep within I feel your reply;
“Yes, there is always more for you.”
Help me to remember this promise,
Help me to see its fulfillment.
May I reorder myself and my life to find fullness in you.
Without you, I am nothing but an empty vessel.
I want to be so much more.
May it be so.
In the name of the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.
Amen.


(Image courtesy of amazon.com)

Leave a Reply

