Like I Should

Standard

(Image courtesy of artistdirect.com)

We’ve come a long long way together,
Through the hard times and the good,
I have to celebrate you baby,
I have to praise you like I should
.

Those are the lyrics to the song “Praise You” (1999) by Fatboy Slim.  I have no idea what he had in mind when he put that song together, maybe he’s talking about God, maybe not.  Today, I decided that I would sing those lyrics like they are about God.  Sometimes when that song pops up on my mp3 player, I crank it up and dance around like a total idiot.  If you saw me, you’d look at me like I was crazy, possessed or both.  I am.  I’m crazy about God and possessed by the desire to communicate that with the whole world.  I talk about it, preach about it, teach about it, sing about it, and even dance.  When was the last time you danced with reckless abandon?  When was the last time you danced as if it didn’t matter what you looked like?  The psalms repeatedly tell us to praise God, and even praise him with dance.  It doesn’t matter the tune, turn up the music so that it pulses through you and dance carefree, because by God’s Grace you are!

“Praise the LORD! 
Praise God in his sanctuary; praise him in his mighty firmament!
Praise him for his mighty deeds; praise him according to his surpassing greatness!
Praise him with trumpet sound; praise him with lute and harp!
Praise him with tambourine and dance; praise him with strings and pipe!
Praise him with clanging cymbals; praise him with loud clashing cymbals!
Let everything that breathes praise the LORD!
Praise the LORD!” (Psalm 150:1-6 NRS).

Leave a Reply

