A Bold Prayer

Standard
“Ask and you will receive, so that your joy may be complete” (John 16:24 NRS).



(Image courtesy of blogs.elca.org)

When the Son came to us, Almighty God,
He told us to ask you for what we need,
Promising that we would receive.
He encourages his followers to be bold in prayer.
This is easier said than done, O Lord.
How can I sit here and ask you for what I think I need?
What if I am wrong or my wants slip out instead?
I do not want to offend you or take advantage of Christ’s promise.
May the Holy Spirit strengthen me, make me bold.
Let me learn, not just to pray boldly,
But to act boldly.
That I may live bold and brazen as a disciple.
If I confront my weakness in this prayer,
Then I am being bold.
If I ask for what I know, in my heart of hearts, I need,
Then I will trust that, by your hand, I shall receive.
Give me my daily bread.
Forgive me my trespasses.
Do not lead me into temptation, but deliver me from sin.
All else I leave up to you,
And there is great joy in relinquishing that burden.
Glory to you, always and forever.
Amen.


Leave a Reply

