The Sabbath Prayer

Standard


(Image courtesy of searchamelia.com)

This is your day, Lord.
The day you set aside for rest.
In scripture, you tell us to remember that you took time to rest from your labor,
And we who are not divine also need to take time for ourselves.
Today I will rest from my worries;
I give them over to you.
Today I will rest from my worldly cares;
Let my thoughts be only for my worship of you.
Tomorrow I can take up my responsibilities.
Tomorrow I can immerse myself in the daily grind,
But today I will cherish the gift of being in your presence.
Just maybe a day of rest is exactly what I need.
Teach me to be still, to rest, and to keep the sabbath holy.
I can afford to take time to enjoy all that you have created;
To look at this world and marvel at the wonders you made.
Let your will be done, not just this day,
But all my days.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

