Prayer of Preparation

Standard


(Image courtesy of 24-7prayernotts.co.uk)

O God of Redemption,
Consecrate me for the life to which I am called.
I hear your voice,
Sometimes from within and other times around me.
No matter who I am or what I do to make a living,
You call me to wholeness in you.
You want more from me than just a day to day existence;
There is a deep relationship to be had, a connectivity beyond the flesh.
At times, I have ignored this.
Today I am willing to move beyond myself;
Beyond my concerns, my hesitations.
Open the way for me,
Push me forward, even when I do not want to go.
At this moment, I believe I can go where you send me.
I can do what you ask me to do.
I can be who you want me to be.
Tear down the curtains I hide behind.
Break down the gates I have build to keep me here.
Send your Spirit to prepare me.
Let me be consecrated for the vocation of being a disciple.
This is no job for which I apply;
No occupation for which I am paid.
This is the sacred purpose for which I exist.
Today I will begin anew.
Today I declare that I am yours, as I have always been.
I just wouldn’t accept it.
Now is the time.
This is the day.
May it be so;
In the name of the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

