The Potter’s Vision

Standard

(Image by Rev. Sarah Wastella)

This is from the last time I attempted to formally create something in the artistic realm.  It dates all the way back to 2005 when I took an Art course in college.  I am not a formally trained artist, but it’s not because I don’t have ideas and concepts.  I am never able to execute them; my results never live up to the design in my head.  This piece was made of cast plaster and then carved, sculpted into a final work.  I know what I saw in my head, and it was not the Hershey Kiss thing you see unfolding in this picture.  My failures as an artist have taught me something insightful about God.

Scripture says, “Yet, O LORD, you are our Father; we are the clay, and you are our potter; we are all the work of your hand” (Isaiah 64:8).  Knowing that I serve an all knowing and all powerful God, I know that God is able to make God’s vision manifest.  That includes each of us.  God can see what we can be, what we are capable of, and can work to move us to fulfill our greatest potential.  Unlike myself who took that raw plaster and struggled to find anything redeeming in it, God looks at us even in the womb and loves us.  God continues to love us our entire life, as we grow and learn and change.  Our free will enables us to resist God’s work, the potter’s hand.  Yet, if we choose to allow God to work within us and on us, we can find ourselves made into something even better, something more akin to the image of God in which we were originally made.

While some days, I wanted to give up on this sculpture, God never gives up on us.  You are never too stiff, too unyielding for God to be willing and able to work on you.  The problem is that we can delay the perfecting process, and fear the change that God will make in us and in our lives.  So while I can recall many epic failures in my attempt to make my vision manifest, God has an amazing track record.  Miraculously, each piece is pure genius and beloved by the Creator.

Leave a Reply

