Manic Monday

Standard
Six o’clock already

I was just in the middle of a dream

I was kissin’ Valentino

By a crystal blue Italian stream

But I can’t be late

‘Cause then I guess I just won’t get paid

These are the days

When you wish your bed was already made

It’s just another manic Monday

I wish it was Sunday

‘Cause that’s my funday

My I don’t have to runt

It’s just another manic Monday


(Image courtesy of classic45s.com)

That’s “Manic Monday” by the Bangles.  It’s a song that was sung all over the United States in 1986 upon its release and remains an anthem of Mondays.  So why are Mondays so manic?  I have long considered this and even thought of making it a post, but never did.  It wasn’t until a friend of mind suggested it that I took it as a serious suggestion.  American culture is not a fan of Mondays.  As the quote from “Office Space” (1999) goes, “Sounds like someone has a case of the Mondays.”

From a secular standpoint, Mondays are the start of the week.  It is the day we get back to work and down to business.  However, for the Christian, Sunday is the start of our week, and we start with worship and fellowship.  Or do we?  More and more Christians are leaving behind their churches and their Sunday worship.  It’s like trying to start your day without that “balanced breakfast” all those cereal commercials touted during my childhood.  You don’t have the stores of energy to get through the day, so you get cranky and crash.  Worship is just like that.  We need it to nourish our spirits and equip ourselves for whatever lay ahead during the week.

While I suspect the reason the Bangles enjoyed Sunday so much has less to do with church and more about nursing their after parties aches and pains, I do consider Sunday to be my fun day.  I look forward to seeing my church family and being with them on Sundays.  I love being in the presence of God and paying God my due respect in worship.  I love the connection through prayer, sacred music, and the ministry of Word aka. preaching.  There is something divinely perfect about beginning my week with holy time that is all about God.  It helps to keep my week from being so selfish.  It reorients me to the real focus of my time: God.  Unless it really is all about the paycheck for you, then you’re not likely to look forward to Mondays.  Monday is the day we get back to the grind of our weekday lives, but it can be a little less painful when we fill up on God on Sunday.  Just something to chew on, and if you missed this Sunday, there’s always next week.


Leave a Reply

