Prayer for Insight

Standard
“And their eyes were opened”  (Matthew 9:30 NRS).

I call upon your name, O Lord Jesus Christ.
Hear the prayer of your servant!
My eyes are heavy from sleep.
Open them with haste,
That I might be awake for worship.

My eyes are clouded by my judgment,
Shaped by my earthly desires and my sinful inclinations.
Clear my vision,
So that I will see with clarity your will.

My eyes are jaded from my experience.
I judge others before I know them.
Be the lens through which I see the world;
Let me see others as you do,
So I may treat them as you would.

I want to see;
I want to see you, my Lord.
Open my heart,
And I will see you in every one I encounter.
I will love them as I love you.
May it be so.
Amen.


(Image courtesy of thechangeordie.org)

Leave a Reply

