A Letter to My Son

Standard
(Image courtesy of prodigalthought.net)

(Image courtesy of prodigalthought.net)

My beloved son,

I have loved you from the moment I learned of you, before the day of your birth.  I loved you in the womb, nurtured you with my being.  While I wish I could be with you every day for the rest of your life, I know that one day I will be gone, and I will cease to exist as you know me now.  When that time comes, I want you to know some things.  I have given you fifty percent of all that you are.  The code of my humanity resides within you.  We share the same genes, and you will pass along the same DNA, should that be the path you choose.  But I have given you one hundred percent of my faith, because it is stronger and deeper than blood.  When my mortal form shall fail, my faith will carry me on.  It is my deepest and most sincere hope that it will do the very same for you.

The things of this world pass away, and possessions are fleeting, but when you ground yourself in God, nothing that matters can be stripped from you.  No matter how dark things got in my life, no matter how much despair threatened to destroy me, my trust in Christ kept me going.  Find your faith no matter the cost or the personal price you pay.  Stay true to God, and you will discover how true God is always to you.  Search out a church home, and learn to nest there.  Weave your faith into worship, and wrap yourself up in it when you are cold and scared.  Surround yourself with people who are not perfect, but yearn to be remade that way in love.  Let them work on you while the Holy Spirit works in you.

Even if I had millions of dollars to give to you, they would not be worth one moment of assurance that Christ has saved us from our sin.  I doubt there will much to my estate, so instead I give you my legacy: love as you have been loved, not just by me, but God Almighty who entrusted you to me.  I was not your parent because I deserved to be, and I made mistakes for which I will be forever sorry.  No matter the failures in my judgment or parenting, they were not because I failed to love you.  I am flawed.  I am a sinner, and I mourn that truth as much as I mourn the evil it has wrought.  Open your heart to love and to forgive.  Be vulnerable to being in relationship, and not just romantic ones.  Open your life to service for the good of all and the glory of God.  Be authentic, open, and honest, and cherish it in others.  Fill your days with the work of the Kingdom, and entrust yourself into God’s care.  Never let the work of the world take you away from the ministry of all believers.  No paycheck, pension, or retirement are worth forsaking eternity in the Kingdom to come.

By the grace of God, I will see you again.  I will hold you in my arms, and kiss your forehead.  I will clutch you to my chest as I did when you were born, and countless time thereafter.  If you let your faith grow, deepen, and be your life, then we will be together again for all time, dwelling in the House of the Lord forever.  When I die, I will rest in God, and become part of the trust that awaits resurrection.  Each time you connect yourself to God, in prayer or in worship or in service, you will be connected to me.  Let God be the means through which we remain tied to one another.  You can no more honor me than when you live, act, and speak to honor God.  It is faith by which we stand, faith by which we are saved, and faith by which we will be together again, because God is a good God, a God of grace.  You are proof of God’s grace for me.  Be a living testimony for others that Christ is Lord.  By the power and love of the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit, we shall be together again.  I love you.

My faith, hope, and love to you,

Your grateful mother

Leave a Reply

